skip to Main Content

A Beginner’s Guide to Tarot Card Meanings


Embarking on the journey of learning tarot can be both exciting and overwhelming. With 78 cards full of rich imagery and symbolism, understanding the meanings of each card is essential for accurate and insightful readings. This guide provides a foundation for beginners, offering a basic interpretation of each card to help you get started on your tarot journey.

The Structure of a Tarot Deck

A traditional tarot deck consists of 78 cards divided into two main categories: the Major Arcana and the Minor Arcana.

Major Arcana

The Major Arcana comprises 22 cards that represent significant life events, spiritual lessons, and deep archetypal themes. These cards are often seen as the backbone of a tarot deck, guiding the querent through major life transitions and experiences.

Minor Arcana

The Minor Arcana consists of 56 cards divided into four suits: Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles. Each suit contains 14 cards: ten numbered cards (Ace through Ten) and four court cards (Page, Knight, Queen, and King). These cards reflect everyday events, emotions, and situations.

The Major Arcana: Key Meanings

  1. The Fool: New beginnings, adventure, potential, naivety.
  2. The Magician: Manifestation, skill, resourcefulness, power.
  3. The High Priestess: Intuition, mystery, subconscious mind, inner wisdom.
  4. The Empress: Fertility, abundance, nurturing, creativity.
  5. The Emperor: Authority, structure, control, fatherhood.
  6. The Hierophant: Tradition, spirituality, education, conformity.
  7. The Lovers: Love, relationships, choices, harmony.
  8. The Chariot: Determination, willpower, success, control.
  9. Strength: Courage, strength, patience, compassion.
  10. The Hermit: Introspection, solitude, inner guidance, wisdom.
  11. Wheel of Fortune: Change, cycles, fate, luck.
  12. Justice: Fairness, truth, law, balance.
  13. The Hanged Man: Sacrifice, release, perspective, pause.
  14. Death: Transformation, endings, transition, rebirth.
  15. Temperance: Balance, moderation, patience, purpose.
  16. The Devil: Bondage, materialism, temptation, addiction.
  17. The Tower: Upheaval, sudden change, revelation, chaos.
  18. The Star: Hope, inspiration, renewal, serenity.
  19. The Moon: Illusion, intuition, dreams, subconscious.
  20. The Sun: Positivity, success, vitality, joy.
  21. Judgment: Reflection, reckoning, awakening, renewal.
  22. The World: Completion, accomplishment, wholeness, travel.

The Minor Arcana: Key Meanings

Wands (Fire Element)

  1. Ace of Wands: Inspiration, new opportunities, growth.
  2. Two of Wands: Planning, decision, progress.
  3. Three of Wands: Expansion, foresight, leadership.
  4. Four of Wands: Celebration, harmony, home.
  5. Five of Wands: Conflict, competition, tension.
  6. Six of Wands: Victory, recognition, achievement.
  7. Seven of Wands: Perseverance, defense, challenge.
  8. Eight of Wands: Speed, action, movement.
  9. Nine of Wands: Resilience, persistence, boundaries.
  10. Ten of Wands: Burden, responsibility, stress.

Court Cards of Wands

  • Page of Wands: Enthusiasm, exploration, discovery.
  • Knight of Wands: Energy, passion, adventure.
  • Queen of Wands: Confidence, independence, warmth.
  • King of Wands: Leadership, vision, entrepreneurship.

Cups (Water Element)

  1. Ace of Cups: Love, new relationships, compassion.
  2. Two of Cups: Partnership, unity, connection.
  3. Three of Cups: Friendship, celebration, community.
  4. Four of Cups: Contemplation, apathy, reevaluation.
  5. Five of Cups: Loss, regret, grief.
  6. Six of Cups: Nostalgia, memories, innocence.
  7. Seven of Cups: Choices, imagination, illusion.
  8. Eight of Cups: Abandonment, withdrawal, seeking.
  9. Nine of Cups: Contentment, satisfaction, wish fulfillment.
  10. Ten of Cups: Happiness, harmony, family.

Court Cards of Cups

  • Page of Cups: Creativity, intuition, new emotions.
  • Knight of Cups: Romance, charm, idealism.
  • Queen of Cups: Compassion, calm, emotional security.
  • King of Cups: Emotional balance, control, generosity.

Swords (Air Element)

  1. Ace of Swords: Clarity, breakthrough, truth.
  2. Two of Swords: Indecision, stalemate, choices.
  3. Three of Swords: Heartbreak, sorrow, betrayal.
  4. Four of Swords: Rest, recovery, contemplation.
  5. Five of Swords: Conflict, defeat, tension.
  6. Six of Swords: Transition, moving on, recovery.
  7. Seven of Swords: Deception, strategy, betrayal.
  8. Eight of Swords: Restriction, fear, confusion.
  9. Nine of Swords: Anxiety, despair, nightmares.
  10. Ten of Swords: Endings, betrayal, loss.

Court Cards of Swords

  • Page of Swords: Curiosity, communication, new ideas.
  • Knight of Swords: Ambition, action, haste.
  • Queen of Swords: Independence, perception, clear thinking.
  • King of Swords: Authority, discipline, intellect.

Pentacles (Earth Element)

  1. Ace of Pentacles: New beginnings, prosperity, opportunity.
  2. Two of Pentacles: Balance, adaptability, time management.
  3. Three of Pentacles: Collaboration, skill, teamwork.
  4. Four of Pentacles: Security, control, conservatism.
  5. Five of Pentacles: Hardship, loss, isolation.
  6. Six of Pentacles: Generosity, sharing, balance.
  7. Seven of Pentacles: Patience, investment, growth.
  8. Eight of Pentacles: Diligence, mastery, skill development.
  9. Nine of Pentacles: Abundance, luxury, self-sufficiency.
  10. Ten of Pentacles: Legacy, inheritance, family.

Court Cards of Pentacles

  • Page of Pentacles: Ambition, diligence, new ventures.
  • Knight of Pentacles: Reliability, hard work, routine.
  • Queen of Pentacles: Nurturing, practicality, financial security.
  • King of Pentacles: Wealth, stability, leadership.

Tips for Learning Tarot Card Meanings

  1. Study the Imagery: Pay attention to the details and symbols in each card’s artwork. These often hold key insights into their meanings.
  2. Use a Guidebook: A comprehensive guidebook can provide deeper insights and interpretations for each card.
  3. Practice Regularly: Consistent practice with your tarot deck will help you build a personal connection and understanding of the cards.
  4. Keep a Tarot Journal: Document your readings and impressions. Over time, you’ll notice patterns and develop a more intuitive grasp of the meanings.
  5. Join Tarot Communities: Engaging with other tarot enthusiasts can provide support, share interpretations, and offer new perspectives.

Understanding tarot card meanings is a foundational step in becoming a proficient tarot reader. By familiarizing yourself with the Major and Minor Arcana, paying attention to the imagery, and practicing regularly, you can develop a strong connection with your deck. Remember, tarot is a journey of self-discovery and intuition. Trust the process, and let the cards guide you.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top