skip to Main Content

10 Tarot Definitions You Need to Know Before Reading

Tarot can be confusing, especially when you don’t understand widely used words that others may think are commonplace. In the world of tarot, there are many terms and concepts that can be difficult to grasp, especially for beginners. Whether you’re new to tarot or just looking to brush up on your knowledge, here are some commonly used terms in tarot and what they mean:

  1. Major Arcana: The Major Arcana refers to the 22 cards in the tarot deck that are typically seen as the most important or significant. These cards represent major life events or archetypal experiences and often depict characters or figures from mythology or history.
  2. Minor Arcana: The Minor Arcana consists of the remaining 56 cards in the tarot deck, which are divided into four suits (Wands, Cups, Swords, and Pentacles). These cards represent everyday experiences and events and are often interpreted in the context of the querent’s daily life.
  3. Querent: The querent is the person who is receiving the tarot reading. This could be you, if you’re reading for yourself, or someone else if you’re reading for someone else.
  4. Spread: A spread is a specific layout or arrangement of cards that is used in a tarot reading. There are many different types of spreads, each with its own purpose and meaning.
  5. Reversal: When a card is drawn upside down in a tarot reading, it is said to be in a “reversed” or “inverted” position. Reversals can indicate a variety of things, depending on the specific card and the context of the reading.
  6. Significator: A significator is a card that is chosen to represent the querent in a tarot reading. This card is often selected based on the querent’s astrological sign, personality traits, or other personal characteristics.
  7. Intuition: Intuition refers to the ability to understand or know something instinctively, without the need for conscious reasoning. Many tarot readers rely on their intuition to interpret the cards and gain insights into the querent’s situation.
  8. Symbolism: Symbolism refers to the use of symbols to convey meaning or ideas. Tarot cards are rich with symbolism, and many tarot readers interpret the cards based on the symbols and images depicted on them.
  9. Elemental dignities: Elemental dignities refer to the relationship between different suits and elements in a tarot reading. This concept is used to help interpret the meaning of individual cards and their relationships to each other in a spread.
  10. Court cards: Court cards are a subset of the Minor Arcana that represent people or personalities. Each suit has four court cards: the Page, Knight, Queen, and King.

By understanding these commonly used terms in tarot, you’ll be better equipped to navigate the world of tarot and gain deeper insights into the cards and their meanings.

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top